13 MPs, 2 Parliamentary Committees and 1 Veteran to be Honoured With ‘Sansad Ratna Awards 2023’

New Delhi : The Jury Committee of eminent Parliamentarians and civil society, chaired by Shri Arjun Ram Meghwal (Hon’ble MoS, Parliamentary Affairs) and Co-Chaired by Shri T S Krishnamurthy (Former Chief Election Commissioner of India) has nominated eight MPs from Lok Sabha and five from Rajya Sabha for the Sansad Ratna Awards 2023. In addition, two Departmentally Related Standing Committees (DRSC) and a veteran and distinguished leader has also been nominated under the special awards category.

Lok Sabha

The Jury Committee has nominated (1) Shri Bidyut Baran Mahato (BJP, Jharkhand), (2) Dr. Sukanta Majumdar (BJP, West Bengal), (3) Shri Kuldeep Rai Sharma (INC, Andaman Nicobar Islands), (4) Dr Heena Vijayakumar Gavit (BJP, Maharashtra), (5) Shri Adhir Ranjan Chowdhury (INC, West Bengal), (6) Shri Gopal Chinayya Shetty (BJP, Maharashtra), (7) Shri Sudhir Gupta (BJP, Madhya Pradesh) , and (8) Dr. Amol Ramsing Kolhe (NCP, Maharashtra) for ‘Sansad Ratna Awards 2023’ for their performance in the 17th Lok Sabha under various categories.

These nominations are based on the cumulative performance in Questions, private members bills and initiated debates of the members from the beginning of 17th Lok Sabha until the end of Winter Session 2022 . The performance data of the members has been sourced from data provided by PRS India, Lok Sabha and Rajya Sabha Secretariat.

Rajya Sabha

Dr. John Brittas (CPI-M, Kerala), Dr. Manoj Kumar Jha (RJD, Bihar), Smt. Fauzia Tahseen Ahmed Khan (NCP, Maharashtra) have been nominated for their performances in Rajya Sabha in 2022 under the ‘Sitting Members’ category. Shri Vishambhar Prasad Nishad (Samajwadi Party, UP) and Smt. Chhaya Verma (INC, Chhattisgarh) have been nominated for the Award under the ‘Rajya Sabha Members Retired in 2022’ category for their outstanding performance during their full term in Rajya Sabha.

Standing Committees

The Departmentally Related Standing Committees (DRSC) in Parliament have been performing exceedingly well and silently contributing their lot to parliamentary democracy. The Prime Point Foundation and eMagazine PreSense are honouring the Standing committees since the last six years, based on the subjects selected, sittings and reports presented. The Jury Committee has selected this time one Lok Sabha Committee and one Rajya Sabha Committee for the Award.

The Finance Committee (Lok Sabha Committee – Chairman – Shri Jayant Sinha, BJP, Jharkhand) and Transport, Tourism and Culture Committee (Rajya Sabha Committee – Chairman – Shri V. Vijayasai Reddy, YSR Congress, Andhra Pradesh) are nominated for Awards for their outstanding cumulative performance from the beginning of the 17th Lok Sabha until the end of Winter Session of 2022.

Lifetime Achievement Award

In 2022, the Prime Point Foundation and PreSense introduced a new category “Dr APJ Abdul Kalam Lifetime Achievement Award” to honour veteran leaders for their contribution to Indian politics, the society and the people. The Jury Committee has nominated Shri T K Rangarajan, (Former Rajya Sabha MP for two terms and a Senior CPIM Leader) for the Award.

All the above Awards will be presented on 25th March 2023 at New Delhi. These Awards are being presented on behalf of the Civil Society.

About Sansad Ratna Award

The Sansad Ratna Awards were instituted at the suggestion of Dr APJ Abdul Kalam to honour top performing Parliamentarians. He himself launched the first edition of the Award function in 2010 at Chennai. Till now, 90 top performing Parliamentarians have been honoured and all of them have received the awards in person. The 13th Edition of the award function will be held on Saturday, 25th March 2023 at New Delhi. The 13th Edition will be making history as it crosses the century of awards mark. Mr. K. Srinivasan is the Founder Chairman and Ms. Priyadharshni Rahul is the President of the Sansad Ratna Awards Committee.