Election on 7 seats of RS on October 4, voting will be held on the vacant seat of Bihar Legislative Council on the same day

New Delhi: The Election Commission has announced the date for holding elections on the 7 vacant seats of Rajya Sabha. On October 4, elections will be held on the vacant seats of the Rajya Sabha. Polling will be held on two seats of Puducherry in Tamil Nadu, 1 each in Assam, Madhya Pradesh, Maharashtra and Bengal. Along with this, the Election Commission has decided to hold elections on the vacant seat of the Bihar Legislative Assembly on the same date. The last date for nominations will be September 22. Before that, it is necessary for the candidates to enroll.

Sarbananda Sonowal can be a candidate from Assam
The Madhya Pradesh Rajya Sabha seat fell vacant after BJP leader and former Union cabinet minister Thaawarchand Gehlot became the Governor of Karnataka in July. The BJP may field Union Minister Sarbananda Sonowal from the vacant seat in Assam. There is speculation that the central leadership will decide to field Sonowal from this seat.

Let us inform you that Sonowal is a Union Minister at present and he is not a member of any House. At the same time, two seats in Tamil Nadu fell vacant due to the resignation of AIADMK leaders K P Munusamy and R Vaithilingam, who are now members of the Tamil Nadu Legislative Assembly. The Rajya Sabha seat of West Bengal fell vacant after the resignation of TMC leader and cabinet minister Manas Ranjan Bhunia in the West Bengal government.