New Delhi, 02, July : The First Session of the 18th Lok Sabha, which commenced on 24 June, 2024, concluded today.

With regard to the business of the House, Shri Birla informed that the First Session that commenced on 24 June, 2024, comprising of 07 sittings, lasted for about 30 hours 40 minutes.

Shri Birla also informed that Lok Sabha recorded 103 percent productivity during the Session.

During the Session, 539 Members took Oath, informed Shri Birla.

Referring to the election of Speaker, Lok Sabha held on 26 June, 2024, Shri Birla expressed gratitude for electing him as Speaker for the second time through voice vote. On 26 June, 2024 also, the Prime Minister introduced the Council of Ministers to the House, informed Shri Birla. Shri Rahul Gandhi was appointed as Leader of Opposition in Lok Sabha on 26 June, 2024, he further informed.

Shri Birla informed the House that the discussion on the Motion of Thanks to the President’s Address on 27 June, 2024 lasted for more than 18 hours and 68 Members participated in the discussion. In addition, 25 Members laid their speeches. The discussion concluded with the reply of the Prime Minister on 2 July, 2024.

While a total of 41 matters were taken up under Rule 377, 03 Statements were made under Direction 73A. This apart, 338 papers were laid during the Session, informed Shri Birla.

Shri Birla expressed his gratitude to Shri Bhartruhari Mahtab, Pro-tem Speaker for smooth conduct of proceedings during Oath of the Members and election of the Speaker. He also thanked the Prime Minister, Minister of Parliamentary Affairs, Leaders of Parties and Members of the House for their contributions to run the House smoothly.