Invitation Card For Inauguration Of New Parliament Building Surfaces

New Delhi: The first picture of the invitation card for the inauguration of the new Parliament building surfaced on Tuesday. Prime Minister Narendra Modi will inaugurate the new building, which is at the heart of Lutyens in Delhi, on May 28.

“Secretary-General, Lok Sabha cordially invites you to the dedication to the Nation of the New Building of Parliament by Shri Narendra Modi, Prime Minister,” the invitation card reads.

On May 18, Lok Sabha Speaker Om Birla invited PM Modi to inaugurate the new Parliament building.

“Lok Sabha Speaker Om Birla met Prime Minister Narendra Modi on Thursday and invited him to inaugurate the New Parliament Building. Constriction of the New Parliament Building is complete now and the new building symbolises the spirit of self–reliant India,” the Lok Sabha Secretariat said in a statement.

The building will be inaugurated around the time the National Democratic Alliance (NDA) will complete nine years in power.

The new Parliament building is part of the redevelopment of Central Vista, the nation’s power corridor.

Revamping the three-km Rajpath from the Rashtrapati Bhavan to the India Gate, constructing a common central secretariat, a new office and residence of the Prime Minister, and a new Vice-President enclave are also part of the project being executed by the CPWD, which comes under the Union Housing and Urban Affairs Ministry.

In December 2020, PM Modi laid the foundation stone of the new Parliament building.

Key Features Of The New Parliament Building:

Built in an area of 64,500 square metres, the new building will have a grand Constitution Hall to showcase India’s democratic heritage, a lounge for members of Parliament, a library, multiple committee rooms, dining areas, and ample parking space.

The new Parliament building has three main gates, which have been named as Gyan Dwar, Shakti Dwar, and Karma Dwar, IANS reported citing sources.

The building will have separate entrances for MPs, VIPs, and visitors, IANS further reported.

In the new building, the Lok Sabha chamber will have a seating capacity of 888 members, while Rajya Sabha will have 384 seats for members.

The Lok Sabha chamber will have the option to increase its sitting capacity to 1,224 members during joint sessions.

The new Parliament building will have portraits of Mahatma Gandhi, Jawaharlal Nehru, Subhas Chandra Bose and also of other prime ministers of the country.

A portrait of polymath Kautilya is learned to have been installed in the building along with a model of the wheel of Konark’s Sun Temple

Tata Projects has constructed the building at an estimated cost of Rs 970 crore, according to IANS.