Speakers Of G20 Parliaments Arrive In Delhi For 9TH Parliament 20 Summit

New Delhi, 10 October – Presiding Officers from various participating Parliaments from G20 nations have begun arriving in New Delhi for the Ninth P20 Parliamentary Summit which is scheduled to commence from 13 October 2023.

H.E. Dr. Shirin Sharmin Chaudhury, Speaker of Parliament of Bangladesh arrived today at Indira Gandhi International Airport. Bangladesh Parliament is one of the special invitees for the P20 Summit. H.E. Chaudhary was accorded a warm and traditional Indian welcome by Smt. Locket Chatterjee, MP on behalf of Parliament of India.

Presiding officers of both Houses of Parliament of Australia, Senator the Hon. Ms. Sue Lines, President of the Senate of Australia and the Hon. Mr. Milton Dick, Speaker of the House of Representatives, Australia arrived in New Delhi on Saturday, 07 October 2023. The two dignitaries were received by Dr. Harsh Vardhan, MP upon their arrival.

Delegations from Republic of Korea, Saudi Arabia, Indonesia and United Kingdom are also expected to arrive today.

Prime Minister of India Shri Narendra Modi will inaugurate G20 Parliamentary Speakers’ Summit (P20) on 13 October 2023. Apart from G-20 countries, 10 other countries and international organizations will participate in the Summit. Presiding Officers of the Pan African Parliaments will be participating in the P-20 Summit in India for the first time.

Four high-level sessions will be organized during the P-20 Summit, which is as follows:

• Accelerating SDGs
• Sustainable Energy Transition
• Women-led Development
• Transformation in People’s Lives through Public Digital Platforms

With the spirit of ‘Vasudhaiva Kutumbakam – One Earth, One Family, One Future’, India aims to provide consensus-based solutions to complex global issues towards a more inclusive, peaceful and equitable world during the P20 Summit.