Telangana BJP MLAs, who had boycotted Akbaruddin Owaisi as pro tem speaker, take oath

New Delhi: Eight BJP MLAs of Telangana took oath on Thursday after Congress legislator Gaddam Prasad Kumar took charge as speaker of the Telangana assembly. The BJP MLAs had refused to take oath under pro tem speaker Akbaruddin Owaisi, brother of AIMIM chief Asaduddin Owaisi.

The BJP MLAs had alleged that appointment Akbaruddin Owaisi as pro-tem speaker marked violation of rules as there were other MLAs senior to him in the assembly. They had also submitted a representation to governor Tamilisai Soundararajan in this regard. The BJP had alleged that the Congress government in the state wilfully violated norms to pander to certain sections of the people in pursuit of appeasement politics. It had urged the governor to set aside the nomination of Owaisi as pro tem Speaker and withhold the process of election of a new full-time speaker for the newly-constituted assembly pending nomination of a senior most member as speaker. Soon after Gaddam Prasad Kumar took charge as speaker today, the BJP MLAs attended the House and took oath.

Telangana BJP leader T Raja Singh said, “Today, all 8 MLAs took oath. We had resolved that until Congress makes people like Akbaruddin Owaisi sit in the chair of Speaker, we will not take oath. Today, Akbaruddin Owaisi stepped down as pro tem speaker and Gaddam Prasad Kumar sat on that chair. In his presence, all 8 MLAs took oath.”

Akbaruddin Owaisi was picked as the pro-tem Speaker of the House and had administered the oath of office to the newly elected MLAs on December 9. The Congress won 64 seats in the recently concluded assembly elections and its pre-poll ally CPI got 1 seat. The BRS bagged 39 seats while its “friendly party” AIMIM was victorious in seven seats. The BJP secured eight seats.