Establishment of the first Lok Sabha of independent India under the leadership of Nehru

New Delhi: “There is no resting place for a nation or a people to march on. You, chosen by our more than 170 million people, are pilgrims who have to march in their company. You have a unique privilege. And a Heavy responsibility.” This was the welcome President Rajendra Prasad gave to the first Lok Sabha of independent India on May 16, 1952, days after the first Council of Ministers headed by Jawaharlal Nehru as Prime Minister was sworn in.

On May 13, 1952, the first session began with a two-minute silent prayer, after which 451 out of 499 members affirmed their allegiance to the Constitution.

GV Mavalankar was appointed Speaker of the House.