Modi govt in preparation for passing 30 bills in the 19-day monsoon session

New Delhi: The Modi government has planned to get 30 bills passed during the monsoon session of Parliament starting Monday. Bringing 30 bills in a session of just 19 days means that more than one bill will be introduced in Parliament every day. The bills to be introduced by the government include the Human Trafficking Bill and the Central Universities Amendment Bill. Out of these 30 MLAs, 17 bills will be new and 13 bills will be brought for amendment. Although the duration of the monsoon session of Parliament is 26 days, if the holidays are removed, then the business will run for only 19 days. In this way, the Modi government has to get 30 bills passed in Parliament in 19 days.

The bills to be introduced this time include changes to the Insolvency and Bankruptcy Code. The objective of this bill is to allow insolvency proceedings to be completed in a shorter time to the debt-ridden corporates. The government will also introduce a bill on the management of air quality in the national capital, with the aim of increasing the air quality in the country’s capital and surrounding areas. Along with this, the Central University Amendment Bill will also be introduced, which will give the approval to open a university in the Union Territory of Ladakh. In the monsoon session, when the opposition is preparing to surround the government on other issues including Corona, then it may be difficult for the central government to pass these bills.

According to a report in ANI, Lok Sabha Speaker Om Birla has said that the Parliament session will run from the earlier 11 am to 6 pm. In the last few sessions, the tenure of both the Houses of Parliament was reduced somewhat in view of the Corona pandemic. Rajya Sabha used to run from 9 am to 1 pm and the proceedings of Lok Sabha used to start from 4 pm.

In the monsoon session of Parliament, this time too, the Corona guidelines will be followed while running the house. Most of the MPs coming to Parliament have taken the vaccine dose, apart from this preparations have also been made for RT-PCR test. The monsoon session of Parliament will begin from July 19 and will continue till August 13.