MPs, MLAs will vote today for the election of the 15th President

New Delhi: Around 4,800 elected MPs and MLAs will vote on Monday to elect the 15th President of India, with NDA candidate Draupadi Murmu having a clear edge over opposition’s Yashwant Sinha as more than 60 per cent votes are cast in her favour.

Hopefully. Polling will take place between 10 am and 5 pm in Parliament House and state legislatures, for which the ballot boxes have already reached their destination. Counting of votes will take place at Parliament House on July 21 and the next President will be sworn in on July 25. With the support of regional parties like BJD, YSRCP, BSP, AIADMK, TDP, JD(S), Shiromani Akali Dal, Shiv Sena and now JMM, Murmu’s vote share is likely to reach nearly two-thirds and he holds the top constitutional post. She is ready to become the first woman of the tribal community to be born.

The National Democratic Alliance (NDA) candidate now has over 6.67 lakh votes out of a total of 10,86,431 votes, with the support of various regional parties. The electoral college, which elects the President through the system of proportional representation, consists of elected MPs and members of state legislatures.

Nominated MPs and MLAs, and members of the Legislative Council are not entitled to vote in this election. The system of secret ballot is followed and parties cannot issue whip to their MPs and MLAs regarding voting. Due to the absence of a Legislative Assembly in Jammu and Kashmir, the value of the vote of a Member of Parliament in this Presidential election has come down from 708 to 700. The value of an MLA’s vote varies from state to state.

In Uttar Pradesh, the vote value of each MLA is 208, followed by Jharkhand and Tamil Nadu at 176. In Maharashtra, it is 175. In Sikkim, the value of vote per MLA is seven, while it is nine in Nagaland and eight in Mizoram. The President is elected according to the system of proportional representation by means of the single transferable vote.

According to the system of proportional representation, through the single transferable vote, each elector can mark as many preferences as the number of candidates contesting the election.

These preferences for the candidates are to be marked by the voter by placing the numbers 1, 2, 3, 4, 5 and so on, against the names of the candidates, in the order of preference, at the space provided in column 2. Ballot paper.

This is the reason why it is not used in electronic voting machines as well as in Vice President, Rajya Sabha and Legislative Council elections.

EVMs are based on a technology where they act as an aggregator of votes in direct elections such as Lok Sabha and State Assemblies.

As per the directions of the Election Commission, MPs will get green colored ballot papers, while MLAs will get pink colored ballot papers for voting. The different colors help the Returning Officer to find out the value of the vote of each MLA and MP.

Seeking to maintain the secrecy of voting, the Election Commission has issued a specially designed pen with purple ink to enable voters to mark their ballots in the presidential election.