Punjab Assembly: Rules on MLAs’ disqualification cleared

Chandigarh: As the term of the present government nears completion, the Vidhan Sabha has finally approved the rules governing the disqualification of legislators. In the 16th special session of the 15th Vidhan Sabha, which concluded yesterday, the House passed the Punjab Legislative Assembly (Disqualification of Members on Ground of Defection) Rules, 2020. The House is in the process of notifying the rules.

As per the procedure, the rules were to be laid in the Assembly for 30 sittings of the House, either in one session or in two or more successive sessions or unless these were approved with or without modifications or disapproved by the House. “The rules were laid in the March 2, 2020, session of the Assembly. This brings the number of sittings to 16,” said an official, adding since the Assembly had given its nod, the rules stood approved.

While Sukhpal Singh Khaira and Baldev Singh have been disqualified as MLAs following hearings in disqualification petitions filed against them, former AAPs MLAs Nazar Singh Manshahia and Pirmal Singh, and Jagdev Singh Kamalu, who recently joined the Congress, will come under the ambit of the new rules.