AN Shamseer elected new Speaker of Kerala Legislative Assembly

New Delhi: A N Shamseer, a member of the Kerala Legislative Assembly from the Communist Party of India (Marxist), was formally elected as the new state assembly speaker.

Shamseer replaced MB Rajesh, who was inducted into the Pinarayi Vijayan cabinet as a replacement for MV Govindan.

The veteran CPM leader resigned from the state cabinet after being elected the party’s state secretary. Popularly known as Govindan Master, he took over from Kodiyeri Balakrishnan, who had resigned from the party administration due to illness.

Shamseer got 96 votes during Monday’s elections to the 140-member Kerala Assembly. Congress candidate Anwar Sadat contested against him and got 40 votes.

The 45-year-old is a second time MLA from Thalassery in Kannur district. Shamseer is also a member of CPM’s state committee.