Bhartruhari Mahtab led Parliamentary delegation will represent India at 143rd Assembly of IPU

New Delhi: A six member Indian Parliamentary Delegation (IPD) led by Shri Bhartruhari Mahtab, MP, Lok Sabha will attend the 143rd Assembly of the Inter-Parliamentary Union (IPU) to be held in Madrid, Spain from 26-30 November 2021. The Delegation is consisted of Dr. Sanjay Jaiswal, MP, Lok Sabha; Smt. Poonamben Maadam, MP, Lok Sabha; Shri Vishnu Dayal Ram, MP, Lok Sabha; Km. Diya Kumari, MP, Lok Sabha; and Dr. Sasmit Patra, MP, Rajya Sabha.

Dr. Ajay Kumar, Joint Secretary, Lok Sabha Secretariat is the Secretary to the Delegation.

During the above Assembly, a General Debate will be held on the theme “Contemporary challenges to democracy: overcoming division and building community”. The four IPU Standing Committees with separate agendas will be meeting concurrently. The Forum of Women Parliamentarians, Forum of Young Parliamentarians; Committee to Promote respect for International Humanitarian Law along with Advisory Group on Health will also hold their sittings. The members of IPD will participate in the meetings of these IPU bodies.

India is the present Chair of BRICS and Parliament of India will host the Seventh BRICS Parliamentary Forum on the sidelines of the Assembly. The theme “Role of BRICS Parliaments in ensuring equitable and inclusive post-pandemic economic recovery” will be discussed by the delegates from BRICS Parliaments.

The Indian Delegation will also attend the Asian Parliamentary Assembly (APA) Coordinating Meeting and Inaugural Meetings of the Parliamentary Network of the Non-Aligned Movement (NAM).