Draupadi Murmu declared NDA’s presidential candidate

New Delhi: In the BJP Parliamentary Board meeting, the name of Draupadi Murmu has been approved in the election for the post of President. Draupadi Murmu, who hails from Odisha, has previously been the first woman tribal governor of Jharkhand. His age is 64 years.

Announcing Murmu’s name on Tuesday, BJP President JP Nadda said that this time 20 names for the presidential candidate were discussed among the party leaders. In this it was decided that this time there should be someone from eastern India, women and tribals for the elections.

If Draupadi Murmu wins this election, she will be the first tribal woman to become the President. Considering the strength of the NDA, their number is believed to be fixed. Before him, Neelam Sanjiva Reddy was the youngest President of the country. Earlier today, the opposition has declared Yashwant Sinha as its presidential candidate.

Proud moment for Odisha: Naveen Patnaik
Odisha’s ruling party Biju Janata Dal has also expressed happiness over the announcement of Draupadi Murmu’s name as the presidential candidate. Congratulating Murmu, party president and Odisha Chief Minister Naveen Patnaik said Prime Minister Narendra Modi had discussed his name and he was very happy about it. It is a proud moment for Odisha.

Brief Biography
Draupadi Murmu was born on 20 June 1958 in a tribal family in Odisha. She graduated from Rama Devi Women’s College. After this Draupadi started the job from the State Secretariat of Odisha.

She is married to Shyam Charan Murmu. In 1997, she became a local councilor for the first time by winning the election of the Nagar Panchayat for the first time. Three years later she was elected to the state assembly from the same constituency of Rairangpur.

Draupadi Murmu has been a two-time BJP MLA from Rairangpur assembly constituency in Odisha. She was also Minister of State for Fisheries and Animal Resources Development from 6 August 2002 to 16 May 2004 with independent charge for commerce and transport from 6 March 2000 to 6 August 2002 in the BJP and Biju Janata Dal (BJD) coalition government.

He was awarded the “Neelkanth Award” for the best MLA by the Odisha Legislative Assembly in 2007. In 2015, he was appointed as the Governor of Jharkhand. She is the first Odia leader to be appointed as the Governor of a state.