IPU sets up Task Force for Ukraine

New Delhi: People line up to receive humanitarian aid distributed in Kharkiv, eastern Ukraine, on A newly-formed IPU Task Force made up of parliamentarians from around the world met virtually on 25 April to explore possible parliamentary solutions to contribute to an end to the war in Ukraine. This diplomatic effort at the global parliamentary level aims to complement on-going peace efforts at the governmental and UN level.
The Task Force has been set up following a resolution adopted at the 144th IPU Assembly in Nusa Dua, Indonesia in March 2022. The resolution Peaceful resolution of the war in Ukraine, respecting international law, the Charter of the United Nations and territorial integrity, among other things, calls for a Task Force to be established “to facilitate the role of parliaments in formulating feasible peaceful solutions.”

The Task Force will enable the IPU to use its good offices to encourage dialogue between parliamentarians in Ukraine and the Russian Federation. Its objectives are to help achieve a complete cease-fire and to contribute to confidence-building measures so as to achieve a long-term cessation of hostilities and the organization of humanitarian and other assistance. In the longer term, the Task Force will seek to help the two parliaments of Ukraine and Russia, both IPU Members, to reestablish a peaceful and sustainable relationship.

The gender-balanced Task Force is made up of parliamentarians representing all the IPU’s geopolitical groups. It includes three Speakers of Parliament. The Members have also been chosen on the basis of their impartiality.

The Russian and Ukrainian parliaments are expected to identify focal points to serve as direct counterparts for organizing interaction with the authorities and other stakeholders in the two countries.

Mr. Ali Rashid Al Nuaimi, IPU Vice-President and Member of the Federal National Council of the United Arab Emirates, was designated as the President of the Task Force. Mr. Peter Katjavivi, Speaker of the National Assembly of Namibia, was designated as its Vice-President.

The other members are:
Ms. Nosiviwe Noluthando Mapisa-Nqakula, Speaker of the National Assembly, South Africa
Ms. Beatriz Argimón, President of the General Assembly and of the Senate, Uruguay
Ms. Arda Gerkens, First Deputy Speaker of the Senate, Netherlands
Mr. Fadli Zon, Member of the House of Representatives, Chair of the Committee for Inter-Parliamentary Cooperation, Indonesia
Ms. Aigul Saifollakyzy Kuspan, Member of the Mazhilis, Chairperson of the Committee on Foreign Affairs, Defence and Security, Kazakhstan
Mr. Avi Dicter, Member of the Knesset, Israel

Mr. Martin Chungong, Secretary General of the IPU.