IPU : Who will be the MP of the year?

Nominations are now open for the 2023 edition of the Cremer-Passy Prize.

The prize is open to sitting parliamentarians who make an outstanding contribution to the defence and promotion of the IPU’s objectives, as well as those ”who contribute to a more united, peaceful, sustainable and equitable world.”

In 2022, the inaugural prize was exceptionally awarded to two nominees, one woman and a group led by a man, to underscore the importance of gender equality at the IPU. Ms. Cynthia Lopez Castro of Mexico, and the Chairman and all the Members of the Verkhovna Rada of Ukraine were awarded the prize at the 145th IPU Assembly in Kigali, Rwanda.

This year, following the IPU’s recent launch of its new climate campaign Parliaments for the Planet, nominees should have a first-class track record of parliamentary action on climate change.

Nominations should go through the IPU’s six geopolitical groups who should submit one candidate from their region with a second nomination as an alternate. The geopolitical groups should fill in the specific application form below and provide a cover letter setting out the reasons why the parliamentarians deserve the prize.