Jagdeep Dhankhar files nomination for vice-president election

New Delhi: Vice Presidential Candidate Shri Jagdeep Dhankhar filed his nomination papers before Returning Officer and Secretary General, Lok Sabha, Shri Utpal Kumar Singh, in Parliament House, today.

Prime Minister, Shri Narendra Modi, Union Ministers, Leaders of Parties and Members of Parliament were present on this occasion.

It is relevant to mention that nomination papers may be delivered by a candidate or any one of his proposers or seconders to Secretary General, Lok Sabha, at his office in Room No. 18, Ground Floor, Parliament House, New Delhi, or if he is unavoidably absent, to the Assistant Returning Officers at the said office between 11 A.M. and 3 P.M. on any day (other than a public holiday) not later than the 19th July, 2022.

Each nomination paper shall be accompanied by a certified copy of the entry relating to the candidate in the electoral roll for the Parliamentary constituency in which the candidate is registered as an elector;

Every candidate shall deposit or cause to be deposited a sum of rupees fifteen thousand only. This amount may be deposited in cash with the Returning Officer at the time of presentation of the nomination paper or deposited earlier in the Reserve Bank of India or in a Government Treasury and in the latter case a receipt showing that the said deposit of the sum has been so made is required to be enclosed with the nomination paper;

The nomination papers, other than those rejected under sub-section (4) of section 5B of the Act, will be taken up for scrutiny at Room No. 62, First Floor, Parliament House, New Delhi on Wednesday, the 20th July, 2022 at 11 A.M.;

The notice of withdrawal of candidatures may be delivered by a candidate, or any one of his proposers or seconders who has been authorized in this behalf in writing by the candidate, to the undersigned at the place specified in paragraph (i) above  before three o’clock in the afternoon of 22nd July, 2022;

In the event of the election being contested, the poll will be taken on Saturday, the 6th August, 2022 between the hours of 10 A.M. and 5 P.M. at the place of polling fixed under the rules.