Raghav Chadha, 2 other AAP leaders sworn in as Rajya Sabha members

New Delhi: Aam Aadmi Party (AAP) leader Raghav Chadha, industrialist Sanjeev Arora and educationist Ashok Mittal took the oath as their party’s Rajya Sabha members from Punjab on Monday.

With this, AAP’s tally in the Upper House has doubled from three to six. At least two others — AAP’s election strategist Sandeep Pathak and cricketer Harbhajan Singh — are expected to take oaths in the upcoming monsoon session of the Parliament, according to party functionaries familiar with the matter.

Rajya Sabha chairperson Venkaiah Naidu administered the oaths on Monday in his chamber at Parliament House. All the three leaders were elected unopposed from Punjab in March.

Once all five nominated AAP MPs take the oath of office, the party’s strength in the Rajya Sabha will go up to eight. All three existing AAP MPs in Rajya Sabha — Sanjay Singh, ND Gupta and Sushil Kumar — are from Delhi.