Rajiv Kumar to be next chief election commissioner on May 15

New Delhi: The Union Ministry of Law and Justice on Thursday announced that Election Commissioner Rajiv Kumar will take over as the Chief Election Commissioner (CEC) on May 15 after Sushil Chandra retires on Saturday.

Mr. Kumar is a member of the three-person Election Commission of India since September 1, 2020. Prior to this, he served as the chairman of the Public Enterprises Selection Board. A 1984 batch IAS officer of Bihar/Jharkhand cadre, Shri Kumar retired from civil service in February 2020 as Union Finance Secretary.

The ministry in its statement said the president had appointed Mr Kumar, the senior-most election commissioner, to take over from Mr Chandra, who will step down on Saturday. With Mr Kumar being promoted as the CEC, the Election Commission of India will be left with a vacancy to complete the three-member panel.