Three weeks into office, HP government runs without cabinet

NEW DELHI: Three weeks after Sukhwinder Singh Sukhu was sworn in as the chief minister of the state along with deputy CM Mukesh Agnihotri, the party’s new government in Himachal Pradesh without a Council of Ministers has started buzzing in Congress circles.

While talks are on between the chief minister, representatives of the high command and state Congress leaders, vigorous lobbying for ministerial slots and delicate factional equations are reportedly proving to be a deadlock, but the All India Congress Committee (AICC) said the ministerial team He will take the oath after the three-day assembly session of the Himachal Legislative Assembly, which begins on Wednesday in Dharamshala.

The party leadership attributed the delay in the formation of the ministry to Sukhu testing positive for COVID-19 and the consequent postponement of the assembly session by a few weeks.
AICC in-charge of Himachal Pradesh Rajeev Shukla told ET, “There is absolutely no issue. The cabinet team in Himachal Pradesh will be finalized soon after the three-day session of the state assembly, which begins on Wednesday.” are on.”

The CM is likely to hold another round of talks with AICC representatives, including party president Mallikarjun Kharge, to finalize his ministerial team. He will have to ensure an amicable deal among the many ministerial candidates for the 10 ministerial berths available, as at least four groups – the chief minister, PCC chief Pratibha Singh, deputy chief minister Agnihotri and loyalists to the high command – vie for it. Advocating hard. Ministerial post. While Himachal Pradesh is entitled to a 12-member Council of Ministers, there are indications that Sukh may not fill all the slots in one go – so that he can use the vacancies available for future manoeuvre. However, due to the delay in the formation of the ministerial party, some loyalists of the party are also getting uneasy, because they are also apprehensive of the BJP’s keen eye.

During the assembly session, for the first time after the election results, the legislators will take oath and elect a senior Congress legislator as the Speaker.